Floodplain Management

Stormwater from frequent minor rainfall events is managed by the stormwater drainage system of pits and pipes.

In less frequent, but larger rainfall events, stormwater overwhelms the drainage system and / or overtops the banks of creeks and channels.  Some locations within the Bayside area are subject to flooding from tidal inundation.

Under the NSW Government's Flood Prone Land Policy the Council is required to manage flooding issues and put plans into place to safeguard flood-prone areas.

The Floodplain Development Manual (2005) guides Council in the development and implementation of local Floodplain Risk Management Plans to produce robust and effective floodplain risk management outcomes.

The Floodplain Risk Management Plan Process involves a number of stages:


Flooplain risk management schematic


The objective of the Flood Study is to identify the nature and extent of flooding within the catchment. Being aware of the potential for flooding and knowing how to respond will make people and property safer in flood events.

The objective of Floodplain Risk Management Plans is to identify the existing flood environment and recommend specific measures to manage the impact of flooding. Flood behaviour, evacuation issues and site access are taken into consideration.

Floodplain Risk Management Plans provide a range of measures that can be used to mitigate the impact of flooding. Invariably one of the most successful measures is the implementation of land use planning.


The Bayside Council area can be divided into 8 main catchments, and 2 minor catchments

  1. Bardwell Creek and Wolli Creek Catchment: Turrella, Bardwell Valley and Bardwell Park, Bexley North, Kingsgrove
  2. Birds Gully and Bunnerong Road Catchment: Daceyville, Eastgardens, Hillsdale
  3. Bonnie Doon Catchment: Arncliffe, Wolli Creek, Bonar St
  4. Botany Bay and Foreshore Beach Catchment: Botany and Port Botany
  5. Mascot, Rosebery and Eastlakes Catchment: Mascot, Rosebery and Eastlakes.  The study also includes the Botany Wetlands catchment.
  6. Sans Souci  Catchment: Ramsgate, San Souci, Monterey, Kogarah (part)
  7. Spring Street, Muddy Creek and Scarborough Ponds Catchments: Banksia, Rockdale, Carlton, Bexley, Kogarah (part), Brighton Le Sands, Kyeemagh
  8. Springvale drain and Floodvale drain Catchment: Banksmeadow and Pagewood (part)

Minor catchments with minimal housing

  1. Botany Bay Catchment: Coastal strip impacted by storm surges and ocean dominant flooding.
  2. Botany Wetlands Catchment: Flood modelling was completed with the Mascot, Rosebery and Eastlakes Catchment

Council is progressively preparing Flood Studies and Floodplain Risk Management Studies and Plans for all the catchments. Community consultation is an integral component of every stage of the Floodplain Risk Management Plan process. Please visit the Floodplain Risk Management Committee page for more information.

Floodplain Management
Need to contact us?

Call 1300 581 299 (weekdays 8:30am-4pm and Saturday 9am-1pm) or email council@bayside.nsw.gov.au